Salesian Geographical Regions

The Salesian Congregation’s worldwide extension suggests a division into geographical areas. These alter from time to time as new challenges are met and circumstances require. The present geographical settings form 8 large regions and two smaller ones (these being the General House and the Salesian University, both in Rome). Each region, with the exception of the two smaller ones, is made up of many Provinces – in most cases at least 10 provinces and perhaps 1,000 or more Salesians per region.

This vice-province of Mary Help of Christians, ZMB comes within the region of Africa-Madagascar


AET – Africa Ethiopia Eritrea
AFC – Africa Central
AFE – Africa East
AFM – Africa Meridionale
AFO – West Africa – French
AFW – West Africa – English
AGL – Africa Great Lakes
ANG – Angola
ATE – Africa Tropical Equatorial
MDG – Madagascar
MOZ – Mozambique
ZMB – Zambia